Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Decentralized

David J. Ryder resigns from Mint on October 1

U.S. Mint Director David J. Ryder decided to leave the bureau on Oct. 1, 2022. He had more than one year left on his five-year presidential term.

- 5 reads.

David J. Ryder resigns from Mint on October 1

Ryder, like his predecessor Edmund C. Moy remained at the Mint's helm for a while instead of following the tradition of submitting his resignation as an incoming president. Ryder has now submitted his resignation.

It is now up to President Biden, who will nominate Ryder's replacement to the Senate.

The Treasury Department announced on Sept. 24 that Alison Doone, the Mint's chief administrator, was named acting U.S. Mint Director.

The Mint currently has no deputy director.

Ryder stated, through a Treasury Department press release, that "It was an honour to serve as the 34th or the 39th Director at the U.S. Mint."

The U.S. Mint was a shining example of American excellence during the global pandemic. The Mint not only fulfilled its primary mission of producing circulating coins, but also generated near-record revenues by introducing highly popular numismatic items at a time when many of its peers around world had closed their doors.

"Thank you to everyone who worked tirelessly and played a part in ensuring the Mint could meet the needs of the public, provide quality products and operate effectively. With Alison as acting director, I am confident that the Mint will continue to fulfill its mission.

Acting Mint director

It is unknown how long Doone will continue to act as Mint director interim.

Doone, who has been a Senior Executive Service member since 2004, was the United States Mint's chief administrator officer from March 2021 to March 2021.

Doone stated that he was excited to be acting director of the U.S. Mint to support its important work. "I look forward working with the dedicated Mint employees across America and supporting our ongoing efforts in ensuring that we operate efficiently and produce quality products for the American public.

Wally Adeymo, the Treasury Department's deputy secretary, added: "We thank director Ryder and welcome Alison into this role. It is vital that the U.S. Mint continues its crucial operations to produce American coins amid increased demand and protect American assets. Alison's leadership is my assurance that we will accomplish this mission."

Doone was the chief financial officers for the Department of Education, from August 2018 to February 2021, deputy chief Financial Officer at the Department of Energy (January 2013 to August 2018), chief financial officer at General Services Administration (September 2010 to January 2013), chief and deputy chief finance officers at the Internal Revenue Service (August 2005 to September 2010), and deputy administrator for Drug Enforcement Administration (June 2004 to August 2005).

Doone was previously a senior-level deputy director of management for the Federal Election Commission, from November 1999 to June 2004, before being appointed to the Senior Executive Service.

Doone has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Pennsylvania State University as well as a Master of Finance degree from the University of Michigan.

Terms of Service

Ryder was the first to serve as the 34th Mint Director under President George H.W. Bush to that of President Bill Clinton. President Bush made Ryder's service possible by a recess appointment.

Ryder was appointed Mint director for the second consecutive time after Moy's resignation in January 2011.

None of the nominees for Mint director by President Barack Obama -- Matthew Rhett Jeppson or Bibiana Boerio -- received a vote from the full Senate.

After not being up for a full Senate vote, Ryder was nominated as the 39th Mint Director.

Ryder's renomination announcement was made on Jan. 8, 2018 and referred to Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs. On Jan. 17, the committee reported that Ryder's renomination had been approved.

Between Ryder's tenures as the Mint’s 34th director, and its 39th director, 25 years were spent in private sector anti-counterfeiting research.

Ryder's nomination as the 39th director for the United States Mint was approved by the Senate unanimously on March 21, 2018. His appointment was scheduled to last through March 2023.

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.