Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured Irán Perú Crímenes Senado Policía

STATEMENT: Winners of the 2023 World Association of Laureates Prize awarded in Shanghai


- 1 reads.

STATEMENT: Winners of the 2023 World Association of Laureates Prize awarded in Shanghai

SHANGHAI, Nov. 7, 2023 /PRNewswire/ -- The five winners of the 2023 World Association of Laureates Prize (WLA Prize) received their awards for their innovative achievements in computer science or mathematics and life sciences or medicine on November 6 at the opening ceremony of the sixth WLA Forum held in the financial district of Shanghai, China, the permanent site of the forum.

Initiated by the World Association of Laureates, the WLA Prize is an annual international scientific prize established in Shanghai in 2021 and funded exclusively by venture and private equity firm HongShan. The WLA Prize, endowed with 10 million yuan for each award, aims to recognize and support eminent researchers and technologists from around the world for their contributions to the two categories of computer science or mathematics and life sciences or medicine.

"This is a truly exceptional honor for me, a level of recognition whose magnitude I never dreamed of," said Professor Arkadi Nemirovski, one of two recipients of the WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics. Professor Yurii E. Nesterov, the other recipient, considered receiving this award "as a recognition of our lifetime achievements."

Arkadi Nemirovski is from the Georgia Institute of Technology in the US and Yurii Nesterov is from the Catholic University of Leuven in Belgium. They won the WLA Prize in Computer Science or Mathematics "for their fundamental work in the theory of convex optimization."

Daniela Rhodes of the MRC Molecular Biology Laboratory in Cambridge, United Kingdom, Karolin Luger of the University of Colorado Boulder, United States, and Timothy J. Richmond of ETH Zurich, Switzerland, were named winners of the 2023 WLA Prize in Life Sciences or Medicine "for elucidating the structure of the nucleosome at the atomic level."

"They have left an indelible mark on the history of our understanding of chromosome structure," said Professor Randy Schekman, chair of the 2023 WLA Prize Selection Committee in Life Sciences or Medicine.

The award provides an account of his decades-long research journey to elucidate the structure of the nucleosome.

"Science is a lonely, selfish, terribly frustrating and obsessive occupation," said Professor Karolin Luger. For Prof. Timothy J. Richmond, "success in innovative research also requires a lot of patience and perseverance." But "doing research is a great privilege," said Professor Daniela Rhodes.

The sixth WLA Forum, which is also broadcast live online, attracted the attendance of more than 300 participants, including global laureates, academics, senior scientists, young scientists and professionals from 25 countries and regions.

Both the inaugural WLA Prize winners and new winners attended the forum, participating in a series of events such as the WLA Prize Laureates Conference and the WLA Prize Laureates Roundtable, engaging in meaningful conversations with other scientists and sharing inspirations in-depth discussions with academics from around the world.

Image Attachment Links:


Photo Caption: Five WLA Prize laureates received medals at the 2023 WLA Prize Presentation Ceremony of the 6th World Laureates Forum on November 6.

Photo -

View original content: